Welcome to MHSAR


Pages of Interest
Bookmark and Share

Last Updated:
12/4/2023 6:10 PM


Astra's Web Page

Shepherd / Australian Cattle Dog/Blue Heeler / Mixed (short coat)  : :  Female (spayed)  : :  Young  : :  Medium

More Pics...

Won't you think about adopting me?

Sponsor This Pet

Learn more about the Australian Cattle Dog/Blue Heeler.

My Rescue
Login to Remember your Favorite Animals and Breeds!

Astra needs a caretaker or foster! Won't you consider helping her get a new start?

Print an adoption flyer for Astra!

About Astra

  • Status: Available for Adoption (adoption info)
  • Adoption Fee: 500.00
  • Species: Dog
  • General Color: Brown/Chocolate with Tan
  • Current Size: 40 Pounds
  • Current Age: 11 Months (best estimate)
  • Fence Required: No
  • Housetrained: Yes
  • Obedience Training Needed: Needs Training
  • Exercise Needs: High
  • Grooming Needs: Moderate
  • Shedding Amount: Moderate
  • Owner Experience Needed: None
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

Astra and her siblings were dumped and found themselves at a high kill shelter in West Texas. They are good with other dogs and kids, and should be with cats with proper introductions.    All dogs and puppies require supervision and training. 

Hi there! My name is Astra which is Latin for stars, and I want to be the star in your life! I am rambunctious, intelligent and loveable. I do pretty well on those leash things, unless there is a new scary noise or maybe I see a fluffy rabbit and I want to see if I can run as fast as them. I have lived with kids, big dogs and little dogs, and even cats.  Sometimes I get a little too excited about wanting to play and I bark, but I am working on using an inside voice. I do feel safe in my kennel for naps during the day and for bed time, but I may whine some just because I want to be out with you, not in there! . I love treats and they help me to concentrate and learn things, like sit, stay and come. I think I like toys I can rip up the best, and if they crinkle it’s even better. I like snuggles and following you around, don’t mind nail trims or having my mouth and ears looked at, and I take direction well – like ‘off’ and ‘out’ when I try to get somewhere I guess I shouldn’t be. I am a Shepherd so a I need activity and stimulation, I am not an all day couch potato pup, I need to get out and run, play and be active.  So a fenced yard, a good hike, and additional training are  things that are really good for me. I like the place I’m at okay but I would really love to find my special and final home soon. See you soon!

 Please put in your application on our website mattysheartandsoulanimalrescue.rescuegroups.org.



More about Astra

Good with Dogs, Not Good with Cats, Good with Kids, Good with Adults, Requires a yard, Likes to play with toys, Playful, Affectionate

Other Pictures of Astra (click to see larger version):

Astra Astra Astra Astra
Astra Astra Astra Astra
Astra Astra Astra

Featured Pet

Support Us